(Please Use this Form for Filing your Local Law with the Secretary of State)

Text of law should be given as amended. Do not include matter being eliminated and do not use italics or underlining to indicate new matter.

County

	City Town Village	of <u>N</u>	iagara, New York	, 		
	•	Local Law N	3	of t	he year 19 ⁸⁸	•
A local la	w establi or olde Tax Law		property tax exidance with secti	emption for pe on 467 of the	rsons 65 years New York State	of age Real Property
Be it	enacted by	the	Legis (Name of L	slature ogislative Body)		of the
County			agara, New York,			

- 1. Real property owned by one or more persons, each of whom is 65 years of age or over, or real property owned by husband and wife, one of whom is 65 years of age or over, shall be exempt from taxation to the extent of 50 percentum of the assessed valuation thereof.
- 2. Any exemption provided by this section shall be computed after all other partial exemptions allowed by law have been subtracted from the total amount assessed.
- 3. The real property tax exemption on real property owned by husband and wife, one of whom is 65 years of age or over, once granted, shall not be rescinded solely because of the death of the older spouse so long as the surviving spouse is at least 62 years of age.
- 4. No exemption shall be granted:
- a. If the income of the owner or the combined income of the owners of the property for the income tax year immediately preceding the date of making application for exemption exceeds the sum of \$12,025. Income tax year shall mean the twelve month period for which the owner or owners filed a federal personal income tax return, or if no such return is filed, the calendar year. Where title is vested in either the husband or the wife, their combined income may not exceed such sum. Such income shall include social security and retirement benefits, interest, dividends, total gain from the sale or exchange of a capital asset which may be offset by a loss from the sale or exchange of a capital asset

in the same income tax year, net rental income, salary or earnings, and net income from self-employment, but shall not include a return of capital, gifts or inheritances. In computing net rental income and net income from self-employment no depreciation deduction shall be allowed for the exhaustion, wear and tear of real or personal property held for the production of income;

- Unless the title of the property shall have been vested in the owner or one of b. the owners of the property for at least 24 consecutive months prior to the date of making application for exemption, provided, however, that in the event of the death of either a husband or wife in whose name title of the property shall have been vested at the time of death and then becomes vested solely in the survivor by virtue of devise by or descent from the deceased husband or wife, the time of ownership of the property by the deceased husband or wife shall be deemed also a time of ownership by the survivor and such ownership shall be deemed continuous for the purposes of computing such period of 24 consecutive months. In the event of a transfer by either a husband or wife to the other spouse of all or part of the title to the property, the time of ownership of the property by the transferor spouse shall be deemed also a time of ownership by the transferee spouse and such ownership shall be deemed continuous for the purposes of computing such period of 24 consecutive months. Where property of the owner or owners has been acquired to replace property formerly owned by such owner or owners and taken by eminent domain or other involuntary proceeding, except a tax sale, the period of ownership of the former property shall be combined with the period of ownership of the property for which application is made for exemption and such periods of ownership shall be deemed to be consecutive for purposes of this section. Where a residence is sold and replaced with another within one year and both residences are within the state, the period of ownership of both properties shall be deemed consecutive for purposes of the exemption from taxation;
- c. Unless the property is used exclusively for residential purposes, provided, however, that in the event any portion of such property is not so used exclusively for residential purposes but is used for other purposes, such portion shall be subject to taxation and the remaining portion only shall be entitled to the exemption provided by this section;
- d. Unless the real property is the legal residence of and is occupied in whole or in part by the owner or by all of the owners of the property, provided that an owner who is absent while receiving health-related care as an inpatient of a residential health care facility as defined in section 2801 of the public health law, shall be deemed to remain a legal resident and an occupant of the property while so confined and income accruing to that person shall be income only to the extent that it exceeds the amount paid by such owner, spouse, or co-owner for care in the facility; and provided further that during such confinement such property is not occupied by other than the spouse or co-owner of such owner.
- 5. Every municipal corporation in which such real property is located shall notify, or cause to be notified, each person owning residential real property in such municipal corporation of the provision of this section. The provisions of this subdivision may be met by a notice or legend sent on or with each tax bill to such persons reading "You may be eligible for senior citizen tax exemptions. Senior citizens have until (month) , (day ______, (year) ______, to apply for such exemptions. For information please call ______ or write ______.", followed by the name, telephone number and/or address of a person or department selected by the municipal corporation to explain the provisions of this section. Failure to notify or cause to be notified any person who is in fact eligible to receive the exemption provided by this section or the failure of such person to receive the same shall not prevent the levy, collection and enforcement of the payment of taxes on property owned by such person.
- 6. Application for such exemption must be made by the owner or all of the owners of the property on forms prescribed by the state board to be furnished by the appropriate assessing authority and shall furnish the information and be executed in the manner required or prescribed in such forms, and shall be filed in such

assessor's office on or before the appropriate taxable status date.

- At least 60 days prior to the appropriate taxable status date, the assessing 7. authority shall mail to each person who was granted exemption pursuant to this section on the latest completed assessment roll an application form and a notice that such application must be filed on or before taxable status date and be approved in order for the exemption to be granted. The assessing authority shall, within three days of the completion and filing of the tentative assessment roll, notify by mail any applicant who has included with his application at least one self-addressed, prepaid envelope, of the approval or denial of the application; provided, however, that the assessing authority shall, upon receipt and filing of the application, send by mail notification of receipt to any applicant who has included two of such envelopes with the application. Where an applicant is entitled to a notice of denial pursuant to this subdivision, such notice shall be on a form prescribed by the state board and shall state the reasons for such denial and shall further state that the applicant may have such determination reviewed in the manner prescribed by law. Failure to mail any such application form or notices or the failure of such person to receive any of the same shall not prevent the levy, collection and enforcement of the payment of the taxes on property owned by such person.
- 8. Any conviction of having made any wilful false statement in the application for such exemption shall be punishable by a fine of not more than \$100.00 and shall disqualify the applicant or applicants from further exemption for a period of five years.

The above Local Law is duly adopted and is effective 45 days from the date of adoption.

(Complete the certification in the paragraph which applies to the filing of this local law and strike out the matter therein which is not applicable.) 1. (Final adoption by local legislative body only.) County City of...... was duly passed by the of the Town (Name of Legislative Body) Village 2. (Passage by local legislative body with approval or no disapproval by Elective Chief Executive Officer,* or repassage after disapproval.) of the Town City Village not disapproved by the Elective Chief Executive Officer * repassed after disapproval provisions of law. 3. (Final adoption by referendum.) County of the City Village not disapproved on......19...... and was approved by the Elective Chief Executive Officer * repassed after disapproval mandatory permissive referendum, and received the affirmative vote of a majority of the qualified electors voting annual cable provisions of law. 4. (Subject to permissive referendum, and final adoption because no valid petition filed requesting referendum.) I hereby certify that the local law annexed hereto, designated as local law No.3.......... of 19.88.... of the Town of Niagara, NY, was duly passed by the Niagara County Legislature on (Name of Legislative Body) Village June 7 1988 and was approved by the Chairman repassed after disapproval June 7 1988 . Such local law being subject to a permissive referendum and no valid petition requesting such referendum having been filed, said local law was deemed duly adopted on July 22 1988, in accordance with the applicable provisions of law.

^{*}Elective Chief Executive Officer means or includes the chief executive officer of a county elected on a county-wide basis or, if there be none, the chairman of the county legislative body, the mayor of a city or village or the supervisor of a town, where such officer is vested with power to approve or veto local laws or ordinances.

5.	(City local law concerning Charter revision proposed by petition.)
	I hereby certify that the local law annexed hereto, designated as local law No of 19
	of the City of
	provisions of § 36 of the Municipal Home Rule Law, and having received the affirmative vote of a majority
	of the qualified electors of such city voting thereon at the special general election held on
	19 became operative.
5.	(County local law concerning adoption of Charter.)
	I hereby certify that the local law annexed hereto, designated as Local Law No of 19 of the County of
	(If any other authorized form of final adoption has been followed, please provide an appropriate certification.)
	I further certify that I have compared the preceding local law with the original on file in this office and that the same is a correct transcript therefrom and of the whole of such original local law, and was finally adopted in the manner indicated in paragraph above.
	Daniel Dannis
	DAVID J. KYZMIR, Clerk 0
	Niagara County Legislature
	Date: July 22, 1988
·	(Seal)
	(Geal)
	(Certification to be executed by County Attorney, Corporation Counsel, Town Attorney, Village Attorney or other authorized Attorney of locality.)
	or other admittage Attention of tocalitys,
	STATE OF NEW YORK
	COUNTY OFNI AGARA
	COUNTY OF
	I, the undersigned, hereby certify that the foregoing local law contains the correct text and that all proper proceedings have been had or taken for the enactment of the local law annexed hereto.
	Mem Hackel
	Signature
	County Attorney Title
	Date: July 22, 1988 County
	City of Niagara, New York
	· Village